2014: You have been a lazy one!

I wouldn’t be a very good blogger if I didn’t write about my past year on New Years Eve. Tomorrow 2015 will start and resolutions will be made. These probably won’t be stuck to but people will start with a naive enthusiasm. A lot of the people I work with have come up with generic ones, heard a multitude of times: get fit, stop smoking, lose weight, gym more, read more etc. I truly wish them all the best but mine is simple, in theory at least: I want to stop being lazy.

I could easily blame my lack of success on being busy. I work as a radio presenter, run a house, commute 60 miles a day and try to visit my family at least once a week. All these are contributing factors but, if I am brutally honest with myself, it is me to blame. If I strip back everything and really look at my year, I have been procrastinating more than I should. Spending evenings curled up on the sofa watching the latest series on Netflix ( Breaking Bad, Dead like me and Scrubs) or reading a book. This is great, and I would never begrudge anyone a night of rest, but this has become a bit of a routine which needs to stop!

Whilst at University, I was constantly busy. I threw myself into a lot of different extra curricular activities whilst also commuting from home to take care of my mum who was, at that time, sick. I loved it. I felt energised, active and seemed to have a lot of success come my way. Even appearing on Tonight’s the night. After University I told myself that I would take a little break. Mum was better and I could relax a little. I think this went on a little too long, its still happening 3 years later.

I have recently become increasingly aware of Zoella and Alfie Deyes. These are the Beckhams of the Youtube world and have amassed a healthy fortune via their Youtube videos and blogs. I could make up the excuse that they write about beauty and make up, things that are more popular than writing short stories, and that they appeal to a younger audience (17-24). Whilst this is true, I have to open my eyes to the fact that they have worked hard to get where they are. If I had applied myself with the amount of energy they have, I may be a little more popular than I am now.

I am not saying it hasn’t been a huge year. It has. I have moved in with my other half and am learning daily about the struggles that comes with running a home; bills, time management, cleaning and the never-ending mountain of washing that seems to regenerate faster than you can wash it. In the next few weeks I will have a new car, purchased thanks to a loan, another major milestone.

So, in 2015, I would like the following:

– To write a blog at least 3 times a week!
– To have at least 100 subscribers, and a 1000 followers on my blog!
– To stop procrastinating and really work towards my goals
– To enter writing competitions regularly to increase my skills
– Have my writing idols contact me via Twitter (Sad, I know, but it is a dream)

Whatever your New Years brings, I hope you have a great one! What are you resolutions?

2 thoughts on “2014: You have been a lazy one!

  1. Knowing your strengths and weaknesses is like winning half of the battle. You know where you lack in 2014 and the new year is an excellent way to overcome and be a better person 🙂

    Like

    1. Sakshi that is beautiful and I totally agree! This year I have started quite a few new things, resolutions some may say…get fit and stay fit (I tend to drop it), focus on my ships more (friendship, relationships etc), blog 3 times a week although may have to drop that as I prefer to write when inspired rather than on schedule, finish a novel, increase my portfolio and work my butt off basically 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

